Deactivating your OHIO ID

Description

If you do not use your account for an extended period of time, or if your role at the university changes, your account may be deactivated or deleted. Ohio University reserves the right to deactivate online accounts.

Former students and alumni

Student and alumni accounts that have not been logged into for 18 months will be deactivated.

  • A deactivated student/alumni account can be re-enabled by contacting the IT Service Desk within 30 days of deactivation.

    • If you do not contact us within 30 days, your account will be scheduled for deletion. If you enroll in classes again after your account has been deleted, you may receive a new OHIO account or your original account may be restored depending on availability. 

Employees

Your OHIO employee account will be deactivated when you separate from the university. 

Retirees and emeriti

Retiree and emeriti accounts that have not been logged into for 18 months will be deactivated but not deleted. Deactivated accounts can be re-enabled by contacting the IT Service Desk

Guests

Long-term guest accounts must be renewed annually by the sponsoring employee. If a sponsor does not renew a guest account, that account will be deactivated automatically on its expiration date. Sponsors have a responsibility to request early deactivation for guest accounts that are no longer needed. 

Get help from OIT

Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 57
Created
Mon 3/21/22 11:23 AM
Modified
Tue 5/24/22 1:52 PM